Loading... Please wait...

How to Start, Build and Run a Successful Disability and File Review Practice, February 10–11, 2018, Clearwater Beach, FL

Price:
$1,295.00
Quantity:


Product Description

Disability and file review consulting is a growing and lucrative medical-legal field which offers opportunities for physicians beyond the traditional medical-legal work of IMEs and expert witnessing. These opportunities are for physicians of wide ranging specialties for full time, part time, and work at home employment/consulting assignments. It is a perfect field for physicians who dislike testifying, travel, and confrontation and who wish to apply their expertise in a way different from IMEs and testifying. How To Start, Build and Run a Successful Disability and File Review Consulting Practice prepares physicians to excel in the niche of disability and file review consulting. This unique course is taught by a highly-qualified faculty and attendees will be provided with information unavailable elsewhere. BONUS The attendees will be provided with the names and contact information for 100 prime referral sources for file review work. Recommendations will be made as to the best way to solicit and obtain this work. This course is only offered once per year. 

The Sandpearl Resort, Clearwater Beach, Florida
Saturday-Sunday, February 10-11, 2018
 

Click here for a PDF of the brochure 

LEARNING OBJECTIVES
At the completion of this two-day interactive workshop you will be able to:

Determine the specific career opportunities available to you in Disability and File Review Consulting
Understand what a high quality file review consists of
Learn the key medical-legal disability issues
Understand the differing disability standards and contractual terms
Efficiently write concise file reviews with supportable opinions
Understand how to deal with issues such as:
    
Functional ability
    
Diagnostic tests
    
Impacts of medications on ability to work
Market yourself directly and confidently to disability insurers and others looking for file reviews
Understand the effects of inactivity
Appreciate the pros and cons of developing an independent consulting practice
 

Registration Information: Tuition is $1295 until November 18, 2017; $1395 November 19, 2017 – January 16, 2018; $1495 after January 16, 2018 and includes continental breakfast and lunch with faculty each day and a detailed conference manual. Register early and save. 

Continuing Education Information: SEAK, Inc. is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians. SEAK, Inc. designates this live activity for a maximum of 14 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)TM. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. 

LOCATION/HOTEL ACCOMMODATIONS: A limited block of rooms will be available at special rates at the site hotel, the AAA Four Diamond Sandpearl Resort (www.sandpearl.com) ($229+tax single or double occupancy) in Clearwater Beach, FL. This rate includes access to the fitness center as well as internet access in your room. Rooms are limited and this rate expires on January 16, 2018 so you are encouraged to make your reservations as soon as possible. To make your reservations, please call 877.726.3111 and say that you are with SEAK, Inc. To book your hotel room online please click here, enter your arrival date and enter your departure date.   Click on SPECIAL CODES, select drop down box Group/Block and enter code: SEAK0218A. 

The Sandpearl features a zero entry pool, Spa, private beach, beach-front fire pit, beach sports rentals, 24-hour room service, 24-hour bell service, live entertainment, concierge service, two restaurants (including the 4 diamond Caretta on the Gulf), and child care services. The Sandpearl is located within walking distance of dozens of restaurants and is a 20 miles/30 minutes cab, Uber or shuttle ride from Tampa International Airport, so we suggest saving money and time by not renting a car. 

CANCELLATIONS: Conference cancellations received in writing on or before January 16, 2018 will receive a full tuition refund. Persons cancelling after January 16, 2018 will receive a full tuition credit. 

Distinguished Faculty:  

anfield.jpgRobert N. Anfield, MD, JD, FAAFP is Chief Medical Officer of Cigna Group Insurance and is a former Regional Medical Director for Aetna. He has 20 years of experience managing disability. His experience began at Ameritech, a regional telecommunications company headquartered in Chicago, IL, where, as a Manager, Corporate Occupational Medicine he was responsible for the integrated management of the STD, LTD and workers’ compensation experience of Ameritech’s 70,000 employees. Subsequently, Dr. Anfield was employed by UnumProvident Corporation as a Medical Director and also served as the Corporate Medical Director of GENEX. Dr. Anfield has had extensive experience in the disability consulting field including: defining role, authority and accountability of physicians within the claim process, developing and implementing processes for claim referrals to medical professionals, developing and implementing recommendations for organization and staffing of physicians within claims, recruiting and hiring physicians, developing and implementing metrics and reporting methodology to track physician productivity, developing and implementing policies and process for on-going credentialing of physicians, budgeting for and managing and organization of 100+ physicians at 4 U.S. sites. Dr. Anfield has testified regarding private sector disability programs and recommendations to improve the Social Security Administration’s disability claim process before the U.S. House of Representatives Subcommittee on Social Security (2002) and before the Social Security Advisory Board (2005). Dr. Anfield’s area of practice is Occupational and Environmental Medicine; he is board certified in Family Medicine and holds degrees from Indiana University School of Medicine and the UCLA School of Law. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians.

Sbabitsky-steven100px.jpgteven Babitsky, Esq., is the President of SEAK, Inc. He was a personal injury trial attorney for twenty years and is the former managing partner of the firm Kistin, Babitsky, Latimer & Beitman. Mr. Babitsky is a prolific writer on medical-legal issues and is the co-author of the texts Cross-Examination: The Comprehensive Guide for Experts, How to Write An Expert Witness Report, How to Excel During Cross- Examination: Techniques for Experts That Work, The A-Z Guide to Expert Witnessing, 2009 National Guide To Expert Witness Fees and Billing Procedures and How to Excel During Depositions: Techniques for Experts That Work. He is the co-creator of the course: How to Start, Run, & Build a Successful Disability and File Review Practice.

alvino-ed-1.jpgEdward C. Alvino, MD is Vice President, CMO, and Lead Medical Director for Unum in Worcester, Massachusetts. Dr. Alvino is Board Certified in Internal Medicine. Prior to becoming a medical director for a major disability insurer in 1996, Dr. Alvino was engaged in the private practice of internal medicine and geriatrics for 13 years in Bloomfield, Connecticut. During this period Dr. Alvino was an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Connecticut. Dr. Alvino is also a part time faculty member at Assumption College in Worcester, Massachusetts; where he lectures on the “Medical Aspects of Disability” and “Medical Rehabilitation” at the graduate level.

Frequently asked questions about Disability and File Review Consulting:

Q.  How large is the demand for file reviews?

A.  Enormous and growing.  Physicians are needed to perform millions of file reviews per year.  The ACA is adding millions of people to the insurance rolls, further driving demand.

Q.  Why is your file review course and directory so popular?

A.  This work can be done at home, is low stress, does not require any patient contact or travel and almost never results in having to testify. In addition, performing file reviews is an excellent way to stay current on the latest medical developments while at the same time, being compensated for your time.

Q.  How much will I be paid?

A.  $85-$150 or more per hour depending upon your specialty.

Q.  Do I need to have an active medical license?

A.  Yes.

Q. Do I need to be board certified?

A. Generally this will be a requirement of most clients or will be required by law.

Q.  Do I need to maintain an active medical practice?

A.  Not necessarily, this depends upon the type of reviews you do, how well you perform the reviews and the requirements of your client.

Q.  What types of referral sources typically request file reviews?

A.  Independent Review Organizations, Health Insurers, Disability Insurers, Life Insurers, Casualty Insurers, Workers’ Compensation Insurers, Self-Insureds, Life Insurance Settlement Organizations, Medical Management Companies, Utilization Review Companies, Third Party Administrators, and Hospitals

Q.  What types of assignments do medical file reviewers typically work on?

A.  Medical file reviews, Utilization reviews, Coding reviews, Chart reviews, Peer reviews, Second opinions, Underwriting reports, Medical Necessity Determinations, Concurrent and Retrospective reviews, Disability opinions, Pre-authorizations, etc.

Q. How can I succeed and earn repeat business from clients?

A.  Perform high quality reviews on a timely basis.

Q.  Are there full time positions available for physician file reviewers?

A.  Yes, these are numerous employment positions with competitive compensation packages and benefits and many offer work from home possibilities.  The key to landing these jobs is gaining experience and learning how to deliver excellent reviews starting with your first assignment. 

SCHEDULE 

Day One, Saturday, February 10, 2018

7:30 – 8:00 CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST & REGISTRATION

8:00 – 8:15 Introduction

The faculty introduces themselves, explains the goals of the course and the interactive teaching methodology that will be utilized. Questions & Answers

8:15 – 9:45 Disability & File Review Consulting: Compared & Contrasted

The faculty will compare and contrast the independent medical evaluation process and report from that of other file reviews including: disability reviews, utilization reviews, pre-authorizations, chart reviews, and medical necessity reviews. Questions & Answers

9:45 – 10:15 Disability Medical-Legal Issues

In this segment the faculty will begin with a review and discussion of the key medical-legal issues facing disability consultants including: diagnosis, impairment, disability, and ability to work. Questions & Answers

10:15 – 10:30 BREAK AND NETWORKING OPPORTUNITY

10:30 – 11:15 File Reviews Overview

Faculty will explain and demonstrate what a high quality file review consists of and what is outside the scope of the file review. A discussion of medical records, what is and what is not in the file, and the crucial importance of credibility and consistency of the medical findings and complaints will follow. Questions & Answers

11:15 – 12:00 Functional Ability

Faculty will review what the latest clinical data tells physicians about functional ability. Discussion will include: physical examination, functional damage, constellations of symptoms, connecting the dots and the medical contraindications to work. Questions & Answers

12:00 – 12:45 LUNCH PROVIDED WITH FACULTY

12:45 – 1:30 Reasonable and Appropriate Care

Faculty will review the applicable standards and best practices with regard to reasonable and appropriate care. The effectiveness of treatments; what does and does not work and how to support findings will be presented. The practical implications for file review consultants will be explored with the attendees. Questions & Answers

1:30 – 2:00 Disability Contracts

Faculty will explain and demonstrate with examples the language in standardized disability policies (contracts), the old occupation versus any occupation definition and the changes in definitions and their implication for file reviews and disability consultants. Questions & Answers

2:00 – 2:45 Critique of Attendees’ Disability Consulting Review

Faculty will discuss, review, and critique the pre-submitted file reviews of the attendees. Questions & Answers

2:45 – 3:00 BREAK AND NETWORKING OPPORTUNITY

3:00 – 3:30 Red Flags for Disability/Impairment

In this session, concrete examples of indications of disability/impairment, paper trails and their significance, indicia of ability, and the impact of secondary gain will be presented. Questions & Answers

3:30 – 4:15 Medications

Faculty will discuss and provide specific examples of the impact of medications on the ability to work. The discussion will include: dosing, side effects, and cognitive impairments. Questions & Answers

4:15 – 4:45 Diagnostic Testing

The faculty will present the most commonly used/abused diagnostic tests and the relationship of findings to functional ability. A discussion of the over reliance on test results will take place with the attendees. Questions & Answers

4:45 – 5:00 Concluding Remarks

Concluding remarks will be followed with an open and frank give and take between the faculty and the attendees. Questions & Answers 

Day Two, Sunday, February 11, 2018

6:30 – 7:00 CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

7:00 – 7:30 Disability Challenges

A discussion of the practical disability evaluation challenges faced by physicians will be presented with proposed solutions. Included in the discussion will be time constraints, missing records/information, and the expectations of insurers. Questions & Answers

7:30 – 7:45 Ethics

The faculty will identify and lead a frank discussion of the ethical challenges faced by physician file review consultants including: maintaining your credibility and effectiveness, always being able to defend your findings and never having to say you are sorry. Questions & Answers

7:45 – 9:00 Writing File Reviews

The faculty will explain and demonstrate a protocol and style physicians can utilize to write high quality file reviews. Included will be a discussion of efficiency, conciseness, and how to express your opinions properly dealing with: the weight of the evidence, collateral evidence, support with objective facts/data and opining on the ability to do past, light, or other work. Questions & Answers

9:00 – 9:15 BREAK & NETWORKING OPPORTUNITY

9:15 – 9:45 Effects of Inactivity

A discussion of the latest medical and scientific research of the data on the effects of inactivity and the beneficial effects of work will be presented. Questions & Answers

9:45 – 10:30 Critiques of Attendees’ File Reviews

In this session, the faculty will review pre-submitted file reviews of the attendees. The attendees and faculty will point out areas of concern and where and how the review can be improved. Questions & Answers

10:30 – 10:45 BREAK & NETWORKING OPPORTUNITY

10:45 – 12:00 Marketing

A practical discussion of how to obtain high quality work, what the insurance companies are really looking for, and making yourself desirable will be led by the faculty. Questions & Answers BONUS The attendees will be provided with the names and contact information for 100 prime referral sources for file review work. Recommendations will be made as to the best way to solicit and obtain this work.

12:00 – 12:45 LUNCH PROVIDED WITH FACULTY

12:45 – 2:00 Disability Case Studies

The faculty will present disability case studies from differing specialties and work through them with the attendees. Attention will be paid to disability consulting and advanced techniques and strategies to bring to life many of the disability concepts covered in the workshop. Questions & Answers

2:00 – 2:15 Practice Setting for Physicians

A frank and lively discussion of the type of file review consulting practices available to physicians (in-house vs. independent) will be presented and the advantages and disadvantages of each will be explained. The faculty will discuss how to start and run a file review consulting practice, working as an employee, and how to find and maintain high quality work. Questions & Answers

2:15 – 2:30 Takeaways, Conclusion and Evaluation

The faculty will answer any and all outstanding questions. The faculty and attendees will then work together to develop a “bulletpoint” list of the most important concepts, techniques and action steps learned in this workshop. Questions & Answers

 

Here’s what your colleagues and File Review referral sources are saying about SEAK’s File Review training and SEAK’s Medical File Review Directory:

“Exceeded all expectations” 

“Excellent content, excellent facilities” 

“Excellent training, comprehensive, provides the tools you need to enter and succeed performing in this kind of work” 

“Excellent, impressive, inspiring, educational course, well organized” 

“Wish I would have done it a few years ago when I started LTDs”.

“Excellent course. Putting the different aspects of file and case review into perspective with regard to the health industry and opportunities for physician consultants was very enlightening.”

“[The course] was fantastic. I’m definitely going to try to do a few reviews now and thank you for giving me the tools to do so!”

“Thank you for your hard work. I enjoyed the weekend. It was my 4th or 5th SEAK course and they have all been very helpful.”

“Outstanding!”

“Phenomenal – should be a requirement for all physicians who perform file reviews. The instructors were superb – bright, experienced, excellent presenters, practical, and humorous.”

“A very informative seminar. I learned a lot about a source of revenue that I had not previously been aware of.”

“Very informative and practical.”

“Well organized with highly experienced staff”

“Excellent, stimulating, useful, very helpful”

“Lots of content, thank you”

“Excellent, enjoyed all faculty very much.  Found [case studies] especially helpful”

“Very informative and practical.  Makes me feel prepared to start a disability review career”

“Awesome”

“Very good, taught by very experienced faculty”

“Well organized, packed with info”

“Stimulating and challenging”

“Excellent very informative”

“[Learned the] wide range of possible opportunities in this field”

“Excellent instruction in proper format, writing style for reviews”

“Presenters were experts in their field”

“Excellent presentation, kept my interest, clear and practical.  Generous with tips – I so appreciate”

“Excellent all around”

“In the past 18 months, the SEAK Medical File Review Directory has generated over 300 referrals, which has resulted in $100,000 in business. Thank you!”

“From your Directory, I have been contacted by about 5 companies, each company has requested between 200 – 600 chart reviews”

“I was listed in the SEAK File Review Directory for a year, and in addition to offers for “prn” case review work, a company called about a job which, full time, would pay $200,000 plus benefits, and part  time, 3 days per week, $120,000 plus benefits.”

“I have gained at least four new business clients from the directory.  Two of which are using my services frequently!  I wish I would have listed with SEAK years ago when I was developing my consulting business. Thank you!”

“I am now doing a fairly brisk file review business, thanks in part to your course and Directory.  I have cut down my clinical practice to about 50%, and no longer do inpatient work…whew!!!”

“I registered with your Directory last year as an experiment, and it turned out to be a very useful investment. I’ll be recommending it to friends and colleagues. Many thanks.”

“Last year, I signed up for your directory and was impressed by the immediate responses I received.”

“I am happy to report that thanks to SEAK I was recently contacted by one of the organizations that provides disability review services to the insurance industry. As you may remember, I attended the Disability Consulting for Physicians conference. Well, two weeks ago I received a call from Seattle asking my interest in providing review of short-term and long-term disability cases. The caller indicated that he had received my name from SEAK. So, I want to extend my personal appreciation for your insight in putting on the conference.”

“I have been getting several file review jobs from the SEAK listings!  I would like to kindly request a copy of the SEAK Expert Witness Directory as well.  I am considering adding myself to this directory as well. Thank you!”

“From your Directory, I have had 5 or 6 referrals, of which, now I work with 2 regularly.”

“I found the file review very interesting, challenging and actually learned from my reviews.”

 “Thanks to my listing with SEAK, I’ve become Medical File Review Consultant for three organizations. I receive regular work from them but see my work with them as a diversification of income source.”

 “I got a great customer from u guys and now I am too busy!  I would highly recommend your organization, and I do.”

 “I think the directory is terrific”

 “At this point because I now have so much review work (repeat from certain clients) that I can’t really take on any more at the current time with my clinical schedule. (it is a testimony of the success of the listing).”

“Excellent, very useful.”

“Great”

“Consistently engaging and met objectives”

“Well groomed curriculum and content”

“Very informative, encouraging”

“Very good, just what I needed”

“Excellent, well done, appropriate concepts”

“Informative, well organized”

“Carefully crafted and paced”

“As usual SEAK = excellence. A beacon of light for docs.” 

“Concise and informative” 

“Exceeded all expectations” 

“Excellent content, excellent facilities” 

“Excellent training, comprehensive, provides the tools you need to enter and succeed performing in this kind of work”

“Excellent, impressive, inspiring, educational course, well organized” 

“Had been considering work in file review, but did not feel confident in knowing what was expected in such a practice. I now feel this is something I am able to do as a result of my training weekend” 

“Helpful, to the point and direct on issues for how to analyze/do reviews”

“Impressive, informative, helpful” 

“Superb” 

“Well organized/comprehensive in scope/great location” 

“Well worth the time” 

“All excellent presenters” 

“The conference was really super informative. Thank you so much for helping open a new part of my work life!” 

“Wish I would have done it a few years ago when I started LTDs”. 

“Thank you sir!! The conference was outstanding and provided me the information I need to confidently move forward in performing file review work part-time. Excellent speakers and venue.”

“It was excellent work. Very useful information throughout the course. All speakers did a great job with all the topics. I was very much impressed with your very honest, and balanced approach. You came out as an authentic and a genuine person to help physician discover their potential.” 

“Thank you so much! You had recommended this conference to me when we spoke last March. I am really glad that you did. I learned so much!”

“It was an interesting and very good course filled with lots of information, resources and leads. Hoping to put it all to good use shortly. “ 

“Thank you very much for the opportunity to attend the Disability and File Review conference. Now I have a much better idea of what is involved in this area and especially about what is involved to write a great report. You and Dr. Anfield and Dr. Alvino did an excellent job and keep the information coming with a lot of very useful content and real-life review examples. I would definitely recommend this course to clients of mine who are interested in this area, as I know they would gain useful knowledge and concrete skills to be able to be find work and be successful doing reviews.” 


Find Similar Products by Category